“I Have No Choice!”

Posted: August 31, 2009 in eating
Tags: ,
You had no choice but to eat the freebie? What were you doing standing in line in the first place?

You had no choice but to eat the freebie? What were you doing standing in line in the first place?

Last week, a particular person expressed a desire for fat loss to me, so I recommended cutting out all soda, sugar, and high-GI carbs for two weeks. I got this text today: “I was forced to drink a regular soda and eat pasta! What should I do now?”

First of all, no one can ever force you to put anything down your throat, unless perhaps you were in Guantanamo Bay and undergoing some novel form of torture.

This isn’t unusual, though, as I get a lot of “I had no choice” excuses:
“I had no choice but to eat fastfood because I wasn’t able to cook at home.”
“I had no choice but to eat pasta because my mom cooked it and she’ll get mad if I don’t eat it.”
“I had no choice but to eat the chocolate cake because our guest brought it to our house.”

Well, hey, if you have no choice but to do that, you have no choice but to stay fat. You could accept it, and start calling yourself chunky4ever_345 on the net, or you could stop making excuses and honestly commit to a sensible diet. If it entails locking your mom up in her room for the next 6 months so she can’t be offended by you not eating her food, I suggest soundproofing her room first. Of course, there are more diplomatic ways to go about it, but hey, she’s your mom, you figure it out.

In fat loss, we often are our own worst enemies. See, we have ultimate control over what we put in our mouths. Granted, sometimes we don’t know better — like some people genuinely think that eating crackers and drinking sugar-free iced tea all day is the way to fat loss. A little proper Googling, reading, and critical thinking will cure that, though. Once you know better, you have no excuse.

So did I tell Ms.Pasta-and-Soda to go cry and comfort herself with a tub of ice cream since she wrecked her dieting efforts anyway? Of course not. Although adherence to a diet cannot be a half-assed effort, you can’t expect yourself to be able to do it 100%, ALL the time, especially if you’ve never really been on a serious diet. We’re humans living in the age of readily available food, after all. I told her that I hoped she didn’t polish off the entire tray, and to get right back on track.

The next time you think that you have no choice but to eat that tasty, nutritionally-void morsel, think about your real choices. To stay fat, or to suck it in (not literally), and start eating right.

Comments
  1. Mrs. Kolca says:

    i like your blog.. lots of success stories, huh..

    i am now trying to drop some extra pounds (after the holiday.. you know), so this is really inspiring..^^

Leave a Reply

