Lose 10 lbs in a Day — Cut off an Arm?

Posted: August 28, 2009 in eating
Tags: ,
sexiness in a bottle? that's what they want you to think.

sexiness in a bottle? that's what they want you to think.

“I wish I could wake up tomorrow and find that all my fat has disappeared.” I used to wish that a lot, about ten years ago. If there was only a way to get the excess fat off my body overnight, I would’ve jumped on it. The thought of waking up one morning and discovering that i was suddenly slim and beautiful was irresistable. While some people dream of bigger things, I used to dream of thinner thighs.

I don’t know how many people share the mentality that I used to have — that fat loss was kind of like randomly digging around in the garden, and accidentally stumbling upon Yamashita’s treasure. And when I did make an effort to lose weight and it didn’t work, I’d be filled with a quiet desperation, and start justifying it with things like “well, chunkiness really runs in our family.” Of course, the diets I used to embark on were stupid (spaghetti and cheese all day everyday, with soda in the afternoon — hey, no meat!), and my family isn’t all that chunky, but I swear I didn’t know better. About the diet, I mean, not my relatives.

So yes, it’s not enough to want to lose fat. It’s not enough to have to have the willpower. You have to know what to do, and do it the right way.

As I was cleaning my closet out yesterday, I found some chinese diet pills that I was taking about five years ago. By then, I had already lost some fat, but found it slowly creeping back, not unlike a monster from a B-horror movie. Anyway. Did those diet pills work? Yes, I lost some weight. But I looked like total crap, i had bad breath, and got sick often. “That’s a small price to pay for losing weight,” you might say. And that’s what I thought too, when I first started taking those pills. Little did I know that I’d have to pay for it in the long run.

I didn’t get something dramatic like kidney or liver or heart failure, but taking those pills, and effectively putting myself on a starvation diet, messed my metabolism up real good. Later on, just one pill a day wasn’t effective enough, since my weight loss stalled. I had to increase the dosage. Then when I got to a weight that seemed reasonable, I’d stop the pills. Then the weight would come back with the vengeance of a wife who discovered her husband been’s screwing around. With another man. Yeah.

 How messed up was my metabolism? I wasn’t losing weight even if I was eating less than a thousand calories a day. Of course, I was still eating stupid things (and I thought that calories in vs. calories out was all I needed to care about). I was also doing cardio for about an hour a day. And I still couldn’t find that leanness, that rock star body I was looking for. I began to wonder, “is this really how I have to eat for the rest of my life if I want to be slim?” That’s when I really became interested in knowing the why’s of fat loss.

It took me years to build back the muscle mass that I lost from all the yo-yo dieting, and re-educating myself on how to eat properly. A bag of chips and a soda is NOT a proper meal, even if it comes within your set caloric limits. Neither is a salad and a big chocolate doughnut.

What am I saying?  Don’t sacrifice good, long-term results for something quick and easy. The cabbage soup diet might not sound easy, but because you only have to endure it for a few days, it falls under the quick-and-easy category. If you want to lose fat and keep it off, you’re gonna have to work at it for the rest of your life. It sounds discouraging, I know. But it’s the truth. Fat loss is one instance in which ignorance is certainly not bliss.

Leave a Reply

